55:AnthroNews:TheAnthroguys Blog

4 02 2009

Theanthrogeek (aka Dr. James Mullooly)

I spent the last year blogging on my own about how Anthropology can be useful to non-anthropologists by popularizing or “making public” the otherwise dry theoretical content of the field.  Although I have enjoyed my work on my personal blog TheAnthroGeek [theanthrogeek.wordpress.com], I have learned that this sort of public application of anthropological theory and method could be of particular benefit to my local context in Fresno, CA (USA).

Therefore, I am teaming up with Henry Delcore, a colleague and friend to focus on a more local inspection and reflection upon how the core competencies of ethnography can be practiced in California’s Central Valley.

I recently moved into Fresno Cohousing so I will likely be talking about life in a modern day village from time to time.  This move signifies a deep and lasting bond I have forged with my new hometown of Fresno, CA.  Let’s see if practicing anthropology here can make a difference.

[To keep track of what theanthroguys are up to visit their blog at theanthroguys.wordpress.com]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

